•  Home
  • Media Centre
  • News
18th September 2019

Inauguration of Audit Committee

Inauguration of Audit Committee

The Audit Service has inaugurated a 5-member Audit Committee. This feat is in accordance with Section 86 of the Public Financial Management Act, 2016 (Act 921), which requires that all government institutions establish Audit Committees. This Committee is mandated to ensure proper and effective financial management practices.

The Auditor-General, Mr. Daniel Yaw Domelevo, who presided over the inaugural ceremony, charged the Committee to perform their duties in accordance with Act 921. Mr. Domelevo asked the members to ensure that the Audit Service implements the audit recommendations contained in both the internal and external audit reports as well as Parliament’s recommendations on the Auditor-General’s reports.

Mr. Domelevo urged the members to equip themselves with the relevant laws as well as bring their professional knowledge and expertise to bear on the work so as to contribute to the development of the Audit Service and the nation as a whole. He also called on the Committee to be firm, sincere, honest and independent in the discharge of their duties. The Auditor-General assured the members of Management’s utmost support and cooperation.

The Committee is chaired by Mr. Julius Opuni Asamoah, Internal Audit Agency (IAA) with the other members being Rev. Emmanuel Ackom, a representative of the IAA, Mr. Francis E.K. Akoto, a representative of the Institute of Chartered Accountants, Ghana (ICAG), Mrs. Judith Kwaaku and Mr. Benjamin Codjoe both representatives of the Audit Service.

On behalf of his team, Mr. Julius Opuni expressed his appreciation for the privilege given them to ensure that the Service implements audit recommendations. He called for the support of Management, the Board and the Service as a whole to help them carry out their responsibilities effectively and efficiently.

Present at the ceremony were Mrs. Roberta Assiamah-Appiah, Deputy Auditor-General in charge of Finance and Administration, Mr. Johnson Akuamoah Asiedu, Deputy Auditor-General-Commercial Audits Department, Mr. George S. Winful, Deputy Auditor-General-Central Government Audits, Mr. Blessed Baffuor-Atta, Deputy Auditor-General-District Assemblies, Mr. Mohammed Ali Zakaria, Deputy Auditor-General-Educational Institutions and some staff of the Audit Service.